donate and facebook  
CSCAA logo   cayuga seneca community action agency



History and Background


Cayuga/Seneca Community Action Agency, Inc. (CSCAA) is a nonprofit organization incorporated in 1965 through the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964 to fight the war against poverty locally. The Agency’s mission is to cultivate a community where all people are respectfully supported and empowered to embrace opportunities for learning, growth and economic security.

CSCAA currently employs over 145 people serving more than 7,000 individuals annually in Cayuga and Seneca Counties through dozens of programs designed to alleviate hunger and homelessness, help domestic violence victims, prepare individuals for the workforce, provide early childhood development, improve health outcomes, lower energy costs and consumption, strengthen families and mitigate crisis.

The Agency is governed by a 15-member tripartite Board of Directors with representatives from the public, private, and low-income community sectors. This structure ensures that the Agency’s customers have a voice in the decisions that affect them. Cayuga/Seneca Community Action Agency is audited annually by an independent auditor. The Agency has an excellent record of audits and program monitoring, as well as fiscal control.

Every three years, the Agency conducts a two county needs assessment of the low-income community. The data derived from the community assessment is analyzed and used to develop programs to fill gaps in services.

Board of Directors

Greg Hinman, Chairperson
Ann Kubarek, Vice Chairperson
Caroline Greene, Secretary
Brian Ellsworth, Treasurer

  Susan Alexander   Amy Mahunik
  Tim Donovan   John M. Nichols
  David Gould, Sheriff   Deborah Patsos
  Barbara Lamphere   Tammy Sunderlin, RN, MSN/MBA
  Karen Macier   Brenda Weimann

Gwendoline Rosekrans

* The Board of Directors Annual Meeting is Scheduled for August 7, 2018. Download the 2018 Meeting Schedule.

2016 Head Start Policy Council

Auburn Head Start
Jennifer Richardson
Elizabeth Smith (Chairperson)
Stephanie Roberts
Lazara Thomas
Anna Searor
Cassandra Kimmler (Sectretary)
Sara Capron-Besner
Gwendolyn Rosekrans

Early Head Start
Bethany Gonzalez (Vice Chairperson)
Dericia Coates
Tiffani Billington

Heather McIntyre

Moravia Center
Melanie McDonald

Southern Cayuga Center
Jamie Bailey

Community/Board of Directors Representative
Tim Donovan

Agency Directors

Laurie Piccolo, Executive Director
Marie Montgomery, Deputy Director
William Atherton, Financial Officer
Kathy DaVia, Human Resources Director
Trish Kerr, Marketing and Development Director
Chris Ehlers, Community Services Director
Amy Schiminske, Family & Victim Services Director
Anne Napper, Head Start Director
Joanne Ocasio-Bizardi, Healthy Families Program Manager
Anne Wilkes, Seneca Programs Director
    Contact Info:    


Site I – Administrative Offices, Domestic Violence Services, Energy Services,Family Developmet, Healthy Families
phone: 315-255-1703
    Site 2 -Early Childhood Development
phone: 315-252-0038
    Site 3 - Free Clothing
phone: 315-252-0038
phone: 315-539-5647
    NYSCAA helping the
web development by:
connect with us on Facebook donate